.:identity:.

Hello everyone I love!

So I definitely miss warm weather and sunshine. It’s still cold here in Kansas City but I am joyful nonetheless, haha.

I’m in Higher Grounds Cafe here on Base trying to get some internet time before class. Then 6 glorious hours in the Prayer Room offering sweet incense to the Worthy One, oh how I love Him…

So two Thursdays ago I started an inner healing class called Pure Heart with all the other interns and I have been super nervous and super excited about it at the same time. It’s pretty much what I’ve always needed without even realizing it – somewhere I can share all of the deep junk and mess that’s in my heart, see what wounds my heart has been carrying that I wasn’t even aware of, and talk about deeper struggles than “I’ve really been procrastinating lately” or “I haven’t been keeping up with my quiet time”. Ah, it’s going to be so good.

The reason I share this with all of you lovely people is because I would love if you all would keep me in your prayers specifically in this area for the next six weeks. Although this is very good and quite necessary for me, it will also be very difficult. There is a lot of spiritual warfare that happens when you start to pursue inner healing – things you aren’t even aware of start to come up, suppressed wounds and memories have to be faced – and with all of these things coming up there is a lot of accusation, torment, and condemnation that comes as well.

The leaders asked all of us to have people covering us in prayer and we take this journey of inner healing and self-discovery, so all of your prayers would be more than welcomed and much appreciated.

Other than that, the Lord has really been giving me so much insight into not only what He wants me to do with my life, but also who He wants me to be. This has been something  I have been asking Him about over the past several months, that He reveal to me WHO  He wants me to BE and not just WHAT He wants me to DO. He has bringing up identity issues that I have struggled with over the years and showing me through His written word and prophetic words from others what my true identity is in Him.

Titles like Bride, Son, Priest, Prophet, Judge, Beloved, and so on…

So let’s take Son for example.

So many times when women read this word in the Bible, we get offended and like to change it to Daughter. But he thing is, it is Son for a reason. This title is not about the gender but rather the position it describes. As a firstborn Son, you get the inheritance of the Father – His throne, power, and authority. This doesn’t mean that we become God, not at all, but as it says in Ephesians 1: 5 ” In love He (God) predestined us for adoption as sons through Jesus Christ, according to the purpose of His will…”

…and in verses 11-14 it says, “In Him (Christ) we have obtained an inheritance, having been predestined according to the counsel of His will, so that we who were the first hope in Christ might be to the praise of His glory. In Him you also, when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation, and believed in Him, were sealed with the promised Holy Spirit, who is the guarantee of our inheritance until we acquire possession of it, to the praise of His glory.”

…check out the verses too – Ephesians 1: 15-23, 2: 4-7; Romans 8: 14-17; Galatians 4: 3-7; Hebrews 12:5-8; Revelation 20: 4-5 (this is our inheritance as Sons of God and co-heirs with Christ)

There are many other passages throughout Scripture that confirm and explain this facet of our identity in God through Christ. The key point is that we are only Sons of God through Christ (Romans 5:1). He is our only way of being reconciled back to God, having right standing before Him, and counted holy and righteous that God through His Holy Spirit might dwell inside of us! (Ephesians 2: 12-22) This has to change our worship. Christ died for sinners not only that we may be saved from the wrath of God if we believe (Romans 5:9-11), but to adopt us into the family of God, and share His inheritance with us. If you look at Ephesians 1: 20-23 (Christ’s inheritance) and compare it with Ephesians 2:4-7 (our inheritance in Him) it makes it all so clear. This also changes how we live our lives here on this side of eternity. It says that all things were placed under His feet and in Romans 8:37 it says that “…we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.”

So why are we found in fear, anxiety, and worry so often? All things have been placed under our feet through Christ! We don’t have to wait for it until we get to heaven, He has declared it over us now. We must walk in all that He has declared us to be in Him. We must walk in righteousness and holiness because that is who He has declared us to be. If He had not justified us (declared to be right in God’s sight – Romans 8:29-30), then He would not be able to dwell inside of our human frame. For He can only dwell inside that which is pure, holy, and blameless, just read in Exodus about preparations for the temple and the priests. If there was even one hint of impurity He could not dwell there and if a priest had not properly consecrated himself, he would die in the Holy of Holies. But through the sacrifice of Christ we were made the dwelling place of God, not just a temporary habitation when we are really doing well with our church attendance, praying, reading the Bible, and not sinning very much. He has declared us holy and therefore a fitting place for His Spirit to dwell (1 Corinthians 3:16-17). We are loved by God! Out of a revelation of this kind of love, we must be compelled to love Him in return (2 Corinthians 5: 14-15). We must walk out daily what He has already declared us to be. We have authority and power; we are loved passionately and never abandoned; we are holy and blameless in His sight.

*To clarify, just because we have been justified does not mean that we can continue in sin (Hebrews 10:26-27; 1 John 3:1-10; Romans 2:13, 5:18-6:4). It is rather a position which God has called us to live in, therefore daily working out our sanctification (process of becoming holy).

As you can tell, this has been on my heart a lot lately. Mainly because the Lord is trying to convince me of these truths, that I would find my whole identity in Him. And when I see myself in Him, I no longer deal with insecurities, doubt in my worth, and live in fear and loneliness. It is my heart for each and every one of you, that you would find your identity in Him and not in man. He alone is the one that we live and long for. He has loved us with an everlasting love, and we are called to love Him in return with our entire being. I charge you to search the scriptures and ask the Lord for wisdom and revelation concerning this matter. He wants to tell you what He thinks about you and to lavish His lovingkindness upon you through His Word.

The Church will receive power when we know who we are in Him and are not daily beaten down by the world. His joy is for every season of the soul, and our identity is everlasting because He is everlasting as long as we continue to abide in Him and His love.

Just ask the Lord what He thinks about you. He is waiting for you to invite Him to share His heart and His thoughts toward you.

Please be praying for clarity for what the Lord wants me to do after this internship. He is moving me in a direction that feels right and I want to make sure that the next steps are in His will. I am so excited to see what the Lord will continue to do during the rest of this internship and what he will do after.

*Also, I auditioned for vocals here at IHOP and I got approved to be placed on different worship teams here, whenever they need singers. So I’ll be singing with Clay Edwards Tuesday the 18th and Wednesday the 19th at 12 midnight. You can watch the Prayer Room online at this link: http://www.ihop.org/Publisher/Article.aspx?ID=1000058181

Blessings to all of you, I miss and love you all.

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

