.:time:.

So it feels like it’s been months since I have been on the internet, haha. My apartment doesn’t have internet so the only time I can use my computer is when I can come to the cafe here on Base.

In a way it’s really good though. Besides sharing with all of you how things are going here, I’m discovering how much I really don’t need the internet….. or a TV, or whatever else I’ve wasted my time doing in the past. When you don’t watch TV for 3 weeks, and find you’re still alive, you start to think about all the other things you could fill your time with and it not be wasted.

I was talking to my friend earlier today about this and I figured out the reason that we waste our time on the things that don’t matter is because we are constantly surrounded by those very things. There are at least 4 TV’s in my house, 2 computers and a ton of movies. Wasting time is so easily accessible and convenient, so why not do it?

Being here and separated from those distractions has completely changed how I view my time. Every hour is so precious, and when filled with the right things, it produces so much more fruit in your life and growth becomes an everyday occurrence.

Ask yourself some of these questions:

  • How is what I am doing right now edifying my Spirit?
  • How is this encouraging growth in either myself or someone around me?
  • Is this glorifying the Lord and pointing myself toward Him?
  • Could I be doing something more productive with this time that I have been given?

Time really is a gift from God and we were created to be fruitful and multiply. I know when we hear that, we think about reproducing children, but apply that commandment to every area of your life and see how you live differently. It reminds me of the Parable of the Talents in Matthew 25. You can read it for yourself, but it speaks to me that God has entrusted to us certain things until His return and He doesn’t expect us to waste those things (whether it be time, gifts, possessions, our job, our children, etc.). He wants us to see that everything we have, He has the power to either take it away from us because we have wasted it, or give us abundant increase and favor because of the way we have stewarded those gifts. Jesus says in verse 29,

“For to everyone who has will more be given, and he will have an abundance. But from the one who has not, even what he has will be taken away.”

Proverbs 12:24 says this,

“The hand of the diligent will rule, while the slothful will be put to forced labor.”

Proverbs 13:4,

“The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while soul of the diligent is richly supplied.”

*btw – if you want to feel convicted about the way you are living your life, just read out of Proverbs every once in a while. It’ll give you a nice kick in the butt when you need it, haha.

This may sound strange, but I really like being convicted. Because unlike condemnation and shame, conviction actually calls me unto repentance, edifies my inner man, and aids in the process of sanctification. My pursuit of holiness hangs on my response to the conviction the Lord confronts me with. And if I realize that the fruit of conviction is holiness, then I can see how incredibly strong the Lord’s love is for me. He is jealous for my heart and He wants to make me holy so that I might be able to be with Him in His presence forever (John 17), so he wages war against my sin until I am without spot or blemish.

I really love the Night Watch so much. I go into Misty Edward’s and Cory Asbury’s sets sometimes, and they are always amazing, but it is so crowded in there! You really have no space for yourself and it’s kind of hard to concentrate with so many people around you. Cory’s set definitely isn’t bad, but yesterday I went in for Misty’s set, and I couldn’t believe how many people were in there. But yeah, the Night Watch is awesome because unlike the daytime, it has pretty much the same people in there every night. We have our own community and I love it because it makes getting to know people so much easier and the atmosphere is much more intimate. I was thinking about it the other day too, that Scripture talks a lot about how people rise early in the morning and cry out late at night to the Lord, and I get to do both! We are in the Prayer Room from 12 midnight – 6a.m., so we pretty much get both which is awesome. AND I get to go see that daytime sets if want to also. Pretty cool.

I could go on more about what’s been happening here and what the Lord had been doing in me, but then you all would be reading far more than you would want to. So if you have any specific questions, just leave a comment on here or get a hold of me on Facebook. BUT what would be really awesome is if you sent me a letter. I LOVE LETTERS, but I haven’t gotten any yet and my mailbox has been pretty lonely for the past few weeks, ha. Really though, I love getting letters and would love to hear from you all since it’s hard to call or get on the internet here. My address is on my About Page if you want to check that out.

I miss everyone and hope everyone is doing well. I’ll try to get on here sooner next time!

With love from Kansas City

Leave a Reply

