.:there are actually 25 hours in a day:.

So my first day was quite intense.

I got a shuttle to IHOP and ended up getting there 2 hours early with two huge suitcases and  nowhere to go. I thought, man how stupid was I to leave from the airport so early. So I stood outside awkwardly waiting for some brilliant idea to pop into my head of what I should do next. Eventually I figured there had to be a nice person at the front desk who could help me out. I ended up meeting the sweetest lady who let me keep my over-sized suitcases behind the front desk.

I was so excited that I got to go in the prayer room within the first 10 minutes of getting there. I sat down and was so relieved to be where I was at that moment. So I began journaling a  prayer and it ended with this statement:

May you move how you desire to move

A few minutes later, my friend Emily, who is also up here, called me asking how I was settling in and if I wanted to go to one of her seminars she was doing for the Commission program here at IHOP. Lou Engle was going to be speaking and I was so excited to hear him in person because he is such a man of passion.

Long story short, he spoke about the Nazarites and how they consecrated themselves wholly unto the Lord, not even cutting their hair to show their full devotion to Him and not to themselves. This is the jist of what he said to us:

The Nazarite similarly reflects the priestly lifestyle in that God’s people are to be a separated people and priesthood of God. But Nazarites live this life not out of religious duty, but rather out of a spontaneous movement of the Holy Spirit – love not legalism.

How far can you go in your abandonment for God?

We should desire not just to be good Christians, but radical lovers of God.

Go the whole extreme to love Jesus.

Prophets are forged in the desert of fasting not in the dessert of feasting.

A great mission calls for a great consecration.

Come out of your tent and step into God’s, he wants to use you in extraordinary ways.

Be separated from things so that you can do the extreme thing.

We are not just intimate with God, but also zealous for His name.

Open yourself up to be a landing strip of revelation.

It was a power message, and one I did not expect to hear within such a short period of time of me being here. The Lord was continuing me on this path of separating myself from the materialism of the world and used this powerful experience to not only remind me that I have consecrated myself unto Him for these 3 months, but that I must consecrate my entire being – heart, mind, and soul – unto Him fully for the rest of my days here on earth.

Later, I got my keys, moved into my apartment, met my other 4 roommates (whom I love), and met my apartment leader Abby. I kind of feel like I’m at summer camp – I’m a camper and the FITN leadership team are the counselors, haha. It’s a neat feeling.

Everyone here is so nice and I have already met a bunch of people who I know I will become close with, and that’s a neat feeling, too. The cool thing is, everyone comes from completely opposite parts of the country. I have met people from California, New York, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Florida, Ohio, Iowa. It’s incredible to have so much diversity among our group, it makes things interesting and allows for good conversation – everything from accents to food.

I ended up staying up a total of 25 hours yesterday/today (i’m still so confused) and I was running on about 4 hours of sleep from the night before.

Please be praying for my transition into the night hours and for the Lord’s movement during the next three months. I’m so excited to see what He is going to do and how is going to blow my mind.

I will try to update as much as I can, but the schedule is pretty packed. I miss everyone and hope you are doing well!

Leave a Reply

